Mawayia, Uparhar, Behind Omaxe Ananda, Naini, Prayagraj

India celebrates its Independence Day on 15th August every year. Independence day reminds us of all the sacrifices that were made by our freedom fighters to make India free from British rule. On 15th August 1947, India was declared independent from British colonialism and became the largest democracy in the world.

It was Lord Mountbatten, the last Viceroy and the first Governor-General of the country, who chose August 15 to declare the independence of India. He was given the powers by the British Parliament to transfer the power to Indians by June 1948. However, he preponed it to August 15, 1947, to avoid bloodshed and riots.